England and New Zealand: Rivalry Renewed in the ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup

England and New Zealand: Rivalry Renewed in the ICC Cricket World Cup


The ICC Cricket World Cup brings together cricketing nations from around the world every four years for a fierce competition for supremacy. In recent years, the rivalry between England and New Zealand has grown to epic proportions.

For cricket lovers, these two matches are must-attend events since they frequently display their talent, tenacity, and sportsmanship on the international stage.

The Rivalry Takes Root

Since the inception of cricket, England and New Zealand have competed against one another. Both nations have a lengthy history with cricket and have produced some of the most well-known players in the game.

The First Encounter

England and New Zealand played each other for the first time ever in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1975. The game, which was played on June 14, 1975, in Edgbaston, Birmingham, showcased the competitive spirit of both teams. England prevailed by a narrow margin of 80 runs.

One of the standout moments from that match was Richard Collinge’s impressive bowling performance for New Zealand, taking 3 wickets for just 35 runs. However, England’s Mike Denness, with his composed innings of 76 runs, played a crucial role in steering his team to victory.

A New Zealand Resurgence

In the international cricket world, New Zealand made a name for themselves throughout the 1980s and 1990s. With notable matches in 1983 and 1992, they frequently provided England with fierce challenge in the World Cup.

In the 1983 World Cup, New Zealand defeated England in a nail-biting contest in Chelmsford. New Zealand’s Jeremy Coney and John Bracewell delivered standout performances, helping their team secure a 106-run victory. This victory marked a turning point for New Zealand cricket, as they reached the semi-finals of the tournament.

The 1992 World Cup saw another intense battle between the two sides. England, led by Graham Gooch, managed to secure a narrow win by 22 runs in Wellington. This match featured a breathtaking performance by England’s Ian Botham, who scored a crucial 79 runs and took 3 wickets for 34 runs. It was a testament to the competitive spirit and skill level of both teams.

The Tides Turn: The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup marked a significant moment in the England-New Zealand rivalry. Hosted by Australia and New Zealand, this edition of the tournament saw both teams at their best. The most memorable encounter of the tournament was undoubtedly the group-stage match between England and New Zealand in Wellington.

Brendon McCullum, New Zealand’s fearless captain, set the tone with a blistering innings of 77 off 25 balls. His explosive batting display left England stunned, and New Zealand posted a formidable total of 398 runs for the loss of just 5 wickets.

In response, England put up a valiant effort, with Jos Buttler’s brilliant century (129 off 77 balls) raising hopes of a remarkable chase. But Tim Southee and the rest of the New Zealand bowling attack proved to be too much for the English batsmen. Southee dismantled the English batting order with 7 wickets for just 33 runs, aiding New Zealand in a thrilling 8-wicket triumph.

This game epitomized the ICC Cricket World Cup’s history and demonstrated New Zealand’s supremacy throughout the competition. McCullum’s fearless approach and Southee’s impeccable bowling were etched into cricketing folklore.

England’s Redemption: The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Final

England had an opportunity for atonement as they met New Zealand once more, this time in the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup final, four years after their heartbreak in the 2015 World Cup. The famous cricket stadium in London, Lord’s, hosted the game.

In a dramatic final that ended in a thrilling tie, England eventually emerged as the champions based on the boundary countback rule. New Zealand had set a competitive target of 241 runs for England to chase. Ben Stokes, England’s talismanic all-rounder, played a heroic innings, scoring an unbeaten 84 runs and helping his team level the scores.

The final came down to a Super Over, a rule that had never been used before in an ICC Cricket World Cup final. England managed to score 15 runs in the Super Over, thanks to Stokes and Jos Buttler. In reply, New Zealand also scored 15 runs, but England was declared the winner based on a higher boundary count throughout the match.

The 2019 final was a rollercoaster of emotions, and it showcased the resilience, skill, and sportsmanship of both teams. New Zealand’s Kane Williamson, who scored a crucial 30 runs, displayed exemplary leadership, while Stokes emerged as the hero for England.

Looking Ahead: The Future of the Rivalry

As we look ahead to future ICC Cricket World Cups, the rivalry between England and New Zealand promises to continue captivating cricket fans worldwide. Both teams have a talented player base that can swing the course of any game, therefore their meetings are eagerly anticipated.

The rivalry transcends the World Cup and may be seen in other competitions, such as Test cricket and T20 internationals. No matter the format, every game between these two countries is a spectacle thanks to their fierce rivalry.


The ICC Cricket World Cup rivalry between England and New Zealand is a tale of ferocious competitiveness, outstanding performances, and unforgettable events. From their first encounter in 1975 to the dramatic final of 2019, these two cricketing giants have consistently delivered thrilling cricketing spectacles. As cricket fans, we can only wait in eager anticipation for the next chapter in this enthralling rivalry, as England and New Zealand continue to battle for supremacy on the world stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *